A literal goldsmith, a golden wordsmith

” At a certain point in life – actually right now – the two questions that become upper most in my mind are, what am I doing here? and where am I going ? The first answer is narcisstic one. I was put on this earth to make people laugh. The second one is much harder – I have no idea where I’m going, and no one knows either. ”
That was Art Buchwald in 2006, at the age of 80,awaiting his demise in a Washington D.C. Hospice.
It could well have been said by Mullapudi, who died at the age of 80, two days ago. He was eminently successful in his life’s mission to make people laugh. But I have a feeling that he knew where he was going. For all i know, he went to the abode of Saraswathi, to make her laugh.
Most of us know him as a humorist. But only a few know him as the writer of several nice sensitive short stories, one of which he made into his great debut film, Saatchi. There is a memorable cartoon by Bapu, wherein some one says to Ramana, ” I have read your story, Ramana. It’s nice. I find your name at it’s end as it’s author. I can’t believe it. ” Wry humor.
Nullum quod tetigit non ornavit.
This would be an apt epitaph to this golden Wordsmith.

About versa kay

Agile, keen, versatile,considerate,patient
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

