I will always love you. So let me take leave.

I have listened to Whitney Houston sing Dolly Parton’s poignant lyric, “I will always love you.”. I like it.
One feels sorry for her just as one felt sorry for other unfortunate celebrities like Elvis, Marylyn, Michael Jackson and a host others, who by their thoughtlessness for their own welfare, broke the hearts of many of those who loved them immensely.

But , as Atreya the Telugu lyric writer, tells in a memorable lyric in the movie Manchi Manasulu,
“They are all great, those dear departed,
Those that remain behind, are their sweet relics”.
They ought to be respected.

Talking of Atreya, I am reminded of another great lyric of his, from the 1964 Telugu movie, Murali Krishna. The song “Ekkada vunna, yemaina”, picturised on ANR, set to tune by Master Venu and sung excellently by Ghantasala, parellels the Houston/Parton lyric, “I will always love you.”

I know not, dear, where I might live hence , and, where you,
And what Fate possibly, has in store for you and me ,
We’ve turned strangers to one another, true,
And I am on my way, – away,
for I wish you well, for ever.

Does anything happen just because one hopes it ought to ?
And something else,does it stop from happening, just because one wishes it not to ?
Ain’t it one’s duty then, to just shrug.
And take it that what ever happens, happens for one’s good?

I had cuddled you like one would, a child,
I cared for you like an eyelid would, an eye.
I carved my heart verily into a shrine for you,
You’ve spurned it. Alas, you’ve deserted it.
.
My heart knows to love,
Is it so crass as not to forget the bygones?
Need any more proof that I love you still?
Ain’t it proof enough that I’ve forgiven you ?
Let your dreams bear delicious fruit,
Let my memory wither away from your mind.
I bless you, my fairy, that you should live happily forever,.
I leave you dear, now,
I am on my way, – away,
For I wish you well, for ever.

About versa kay

Agile, keen, versatile,considerate,patient
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I will always love you. So let me take leave.

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    “They are all great, those dear departed,
    Those that remain behind, are their sweet relics”.
    They ought to be respected.

    I was really touched by these words today. I’m currently supporting a friend whose husband recently died and this sums it up for me. Thank you for posting this.

Leave a Reply

