Ab ke hum bichde to… ( We have parted company for now, but hopefully …………)

The landline rings. I do not stir. Let some one else respond. The phone is shrill and insistent. ” Are you turning deaf too, to add to my travails? ” The missus is hobbling out of the kitchen.
I shrug wearily and claw my way out of the deep black hole, within which I have been wallowing for the past many days pitying myself and cursing the morass I have dropped into. Not that I have I have been sitting idle. I have attended a course on The Bhagavat Gita for quite a few weeks, I have been practising alaap of a few new ragas. And have started to play a few notes every now and then on my old flute.And desultorily trying to read once again forgotten belle letterres like Rubaiyats of Omar Khayam, ( Edward FitzGerald and The Great Gatsby by Scott Fitzgerald..

It is Ammanni on the phone, my elder sister, She has a kindly, sweet , soothing and effervescent voice. A beautiful sharp voice. When she sings, ‘ Manasuna Mallela Malaloogene”, it is Bhanumathi. When she sings, ‘ yeh zindagi useeki hai”, it is veritably vintage Lata, and again when she sings, ‘ Ranjish hee sahee.”, it is, well Anuradha Paudwal or Roona Laila depending on her choice, her shruti is sharper, you see. She is now-a-days troubled by a heart condition, but when I enquire how she was, the reply invariably, is a sprightly, ” Never been better.” Always.
But now I find her tone a bit subdued. I enquire what the matter was. ” Have you read the news?. Mehdi Hasan is no more.”. No, I have stopped reading the news paper, more than a fortnight ago and stopped touching the iPad since more than week.

So the great crooner of sweet Ghazals is no more. The Baadshah-e-husn, The Husn-e-Zahaan lives on.
In fact, I have been intending to write a great post on him ever since I have read a few weeks ago that he was seriously ill and that plans were afoot to bring him to India and his beloved Rajastan for treatment.

I lift myself up, rummage into my hopelessly unwieldy collection of cassettes, and CDs and fish out, ‘Mehdi Hassan Live’, a casette album I purchased in the early nineteen seventies, and play it on my old Panasonic portable stereo cassette recorder/player.
The first of the songs is ‘Ranjish hee sahee.’, a song which epitomizes the longing of a lost soul for his Kesariya Balam.
My love for the beautiful voice grew,’Rafta Rafta” since I bought the casette forty years ago, I have now also a mp3 CD of forty of his melodies which I have copied onto my iPod. Of course I have a few casettes by Talat Aziz, Anuradha Paudwal and Runa Laila, re-rendering Mehdiji’s Gazals. When I say his gazals, I mean his literally,, since he had the knack of lifting even a most mundane or maudlin sentiment into sublime levels through his soulful rendering of them. Ab to hum bicchde to ……….

About versa kay

Agile, keen, versatile,considerate,patient
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

