Tease me as the drizzle does, tickle me to make me bounce aroun.

Here is the song I have mentioned of, in my previous post from the movie Geetanjali
The Lyric is by Veturi, the great, the Music by Ilayaraja, the great and the Singer is Chitra, the great. The lyric is reproduced here. My attempt at translation is interspersed.

Jallantha kavvintha kaavaalile
Ollanta thullintha raavaalile
Urukulu parugulu uduku vayasu dhuduku thanamu niluvadu
Tholakari merupulaa ulikipadina kaliki sogasu
Kondamma konamma mechindile endallo vennellu thechindile

Tease me a bit as the drizzle does,
Tickle my body, make it bounce around.
I can’t help but sprint and race round and around,
My brash, sizzling youth refuses to stay put.
The Mom-Wood on the The Mom-Hill, is taken in
by the graces of a girl who got startled, shivered and shook
like the streak of a lightning which ushered in the first showers of the season. And she blessed me with a balmy moon-light to shove away the sultry sun-light.

Vaaguloo vankaloo jala jalaa chilipigaa pilichinaa
Gaaluloo vaanaloo chitapataa chinukule chilikinaa
Manasu aagadu idemi allaro
Tanuvu daagadu ademi thaakido
Kona chaatu kondamalle tene mata muddulaadi
Velladaaye kallu leni devudenduko mari

Steams and rivulets call forth to me gargling and warbling mischievously, Gales and showers sprinkle drizzles on me, singing out naughty melodies. Still my mind doesn’t stop straying. What mischief it does!
The body swells out of my raiments, it refuses to hide itself, What is it that has possessed me in its hold ?
The wild jasmine lurking in the wood, whispers naughty-nothings to me
with its honey-laced tongue, It doesn’t leave me alone. And the blind God seems to be in league, what does he exist for?

Jallantha kavvintha kaavaalile
Ollanta thullintha raavaalile
Urukulu parugulu uduku vayasu dhuduku thanam niluvadu
Tholakari. merupulaa ulikipadina kaliki sogasu
Kondamma konamma mechindile endallo vennellu thechindile

Sandelo rangule nosatipai tilakame nilupagaa
Telipenee manasuleTeli teli manchule theliyani thapanale thelupagaa Vaanadevude kallaapi jallagaa
Vaayudevude muggesi vellagaa
Neelimanta/neelikonda /guttulonigundeloni oosulanni thelusukunna Kotha paata puttukoche evarikosamo

The twilight colors have smeared my brow with a tilak.
The white mists have brought out the burning desire
that lurked dormant in my mind, into the open
The Rain God has plastered the ground,
The Wind God has woven rangolies all around here and left. Just as I discover the secrets buried deep in the bosom of the blue hills, a new song, I know not dedicated to whom, wells up within me.

Jallantha kavvintha kaavaalile
Ollantha thullintha raavaalile
Urukulu parugulu uduku vayasu dhuduku thanam niluvadu
Tholakari merupulaa ulikipadina kaliki sogasu
Kondamma konamma mechindile endallo vennellu thechindile

Check out this video on YouTube:

About versa kay

Agile, keen, versatile,considerate,patient
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

