Do I find that pearl drop of a tear in your eye?

Here is a beautiful lyric of Veturi from the 1981 hit movie Mudda Mandaram, (the nascent blossom of a full multi-layered hibiscus).
The movie is about a rich educated boy falling in love with a poor village girl. To ecape the intrigues of elders to separate them, they elope into deep woods, where the girl delivers a baby to the young man. Thry are discovered by the elders who continue with their intrigues, but the couple remain steadfast.
The beautiful lyrics by Veturi were set to great and tender music by Ramesh Naidu. This song is rendered exquisitely by S.P.Bala Subrahmanyam and S. janaki.
Pallavi
He:
Alivaynee! Aani mutyamaa !
Nee kanta neeti mutyamaa?
Aa viri chiguro ? Yidi voopiri kaburo ?
Swaathi vaana laytha yendalo
Jaali navvu jaazi dandaloa?

She
Alivaynee! Aani muthyamaa!
Naa paruvaalaa praana muthyamaa!
Jaabili chaluvoa ? Yidi vennela koluvoa?
Swaathivaanaa laytha yendaloa
Jazi mallee poola gundeloa ?
He
Alivaynee aani mutyamaa!

Charanam-1
He
Kudureina bommakee, kululu malle remmakee,
Nuduta muddu pettanaa, bottugaa?
She
Vaddantay voddugaa!

He
Andaala ammakee, kundanaala kommaki,
Adugu madugulottana, mettagaa?

She:
Aounantay tappugaa !
He:
Alivaynee aani mutyamaa!
She
Naa paruvaalaa praana mutyamaa!

Charanam:2
She
Pogadalayni premakee, ponna chettu needakee,
Pogada dandalallukoana, poojagaa?
He
Pulakintala poojagaa?
She
Toli janmala nomukee, dora navvula swaamikee,
Chelimai naynundipoana, challagaa?
He
Maru mallelu challagaa?
She
Alivaynee aani mutyamaa!
He
Nee kanta neeti mutyamaa?
She
Jaabili chaluvoa? Yidi vennela koluvoa?
Both:
Swaathivaanaa laytha yendaloa,
Jazi mallee poola gundeloa?
Alivaynee aani mutyamaa!

He:
Do I find that pearl drop of a tear in your eye?
Oh, My love ! With tresses shiny and dark as the wings of a bumble–bee.,
You are my blemish-less pearl, bright and smooth to the touch.
What has caused that drop of tear?
Is it the beauty of the tender blossom, yonder that invoked it ? Or Is it something intangible your breath struggles to spell out , that has brimmed out of your eyes ?
Is it the wan smile of a garland of jasmines or spanish jasmines, to the tender touch of sun-light on a rainy October morning?
She
Oh, my love ! With tresses shiny and dark as the wings of a bumble–bee.
You are my blemish-less pearl, bright and smooth to the touch.
You are the pearl that sustains my very life, my youth !
Is it the mild chill of the full moon, or is it the bright light of the moon holding sway all around.?
Is it the bosom of a jasmine or a spanish jasmine, wide awake to the tender sun-light on a rainy October morning?
He
Oh, My love ! With tresses shiny and dark as the wings of a bumble-bee,
You are my blemish-less pearl, bright and smooth to the touch all around.
Charanam-1
May be I ought to smooch the brow of this perfect doll, this jasmine creeper swaying tantalisingly in the wind, my kiss to serve as a glowing bindi on her brow.
She
No, absolutely no.
He
Shall I caress your feet, massage them softly, you dear lady with a .silvery sheen, you beautiful mother of my children.
She:
Don’t do that. It’s improper.
He:
Oh, My love ! With tresses shiny and dark, as the wings of a bumble-bee.
You are my blemish-less pearl, bright and smooth to the touch all around.
She
You are the pearl that sustains my very life, my youth !
Charanam-2
She
I ought to string garlands of fragrant ponna blossoms to worship you and your ineffable love towards me, the affection which is like the cool shade of the ponna tree.
He
Yes, to ecstatically worship, you.
She
You are the fruitful outcome to me of penances in lives gone past, ruler of my heart, with the winning smile of an emperor.
I cherish to remain for ever, a friend to you, to be of comfort and solace to you,
He
Yes. To shower jasmines and more jasmines over me.
She
Oh, My love ! With tresses shiny and dark as the wings of a bumble-bee.
You are my blemish-less pearl, bright and smooth to the touch.
He
Do I find that pearl drop of a tear in your eye?
What has caused that?
She:
Is it the mild chill of the full moon, or is it the bright light of the moon holding sway all around.
Is it the bosom of a jasmine or a spanish jasmine wide awake to the tender sun-light on a rainy October morning.?
Oh, My love ! With tresses shiny and dark as the wings of a bumble–bee.,
You are my blemish-less pearl, bright and smooth to the touch all around.
How do you find the lyric. The translation saps the lyric of a lot of the charm and beauty of the swet Telugu words that are skillfully woven into it by Veturi. I have tried to give you a feel of the great imagery, a trace of its beauty.
I find the picturisation of it was too explicit, banal and distracting from the grest lyric and the soulful melody.It could have been more subtle.
You may google ” Ali veni aani mutyamaa, Mudda Mandaaram”, or so, to get to a YouTube clip of the song.
You may find the great comedian Sutti Velu, who expired recently, also in the video clip.

About versa kay

Agile, keen, versatile,considerate,patient
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

