A penitent partner makes a passionate promise.

Here is a nice popular song from the Telugu movie GruhaPravesam which I like very much. The lyric by Mylavarapu Gopi set to soulful music in Kanada raagam by Satyam was rendered beautifully by Jesu Das. The protagonists are Mohan Babu and Jaya Sudha. The purport of the lyric and its setting are pretty self-evident, from the video clip. I translate it here into English.

Pallavi
You have shown me the right path, oh, my dear angel!
Don’t ever leave my hand henceforth. Hold it firm.
For life after perennial life to come, do walk beside me. Be mine, mine own.
My dear angel ! You have shown me the right path
Don’t ever leave my hand henceforth, hold it firm,
Charanam-1
It was not in the distant past, It just looks like yesterday, that I had behaved heartlessly, like a stone, with you.
Now that I am back under the cool canopy of your care and affection, I know what love is, Believe me. I have turned into a man.
I am awake. Now that my eyes are wide open, I do not know, I’m at a loss, how best can I serve you dear ?
Charanam-2
I can not forget it ,I can not hope to erase it. My treachery, towards you.
I can not overlook, no, not even in a wild dream of mine, the graciousness that you have shown to me.
You are indeed a treasure, you have taught me what love is,
Let this very same love, your munificence, let it bless you .
You have shown me the right path oh, my dear angel!
.Don’t ever leave my hand henceforth, hold it firm,
For life after perennial life to come do walk beside me .Be mine, mine own.
My fairy dearl ! You have shown me the right path
Don’t ever leave my hand henceforth, hold it firm,

Here is a transliteration of the Telugu lyric into the Roman script.
Pallavi
Daari choopina devataa ! Yee chaeyi yennadu veedakaa -2.
Janma janma-ku todu-gaa, naa danav-ai nuvvu nadachi raa
Daari choopina devataa ! Yee chaeyi yennadu veedakaa –
Charanam 1
Manasu laenee silanu naenoo, nuvvu choosina ninnaloa.
Mamata telisee, manishin-aitee, challanee nee chaetiloa.
Kanulu therichina vaelaloa, neek-aemi saevalu chaetunoa ?
Charanam 2
Marapu raadoo maasi poadoo, naenu chaesina drohamoo.
Kalanu koodaa maruvan-amma ! Nuvvu choopina tyagamoo.
Praema nerpina pennidhee ! Aa praema ninu deevinchanee.
Daari choopina devataa ! Yee chaeyi yennadu veedakaa.
Daari choopina devataa ! Yee chaeyi yennadu veedakaa.
Janma janmaku todu-gaa, naa danavai nuvvu
Daari choopina devataa ! Yee chaeyi yennadu veedaka

Here is a YouTube video clip of this pleasant song.

About versa kay

Agile, keen, versatile,considerate,patient
This entry was posted in Code of conduct, movies, music, poetry, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

