Can you condone this sinner, the saint implores his lord.

To err is human, as the cliche goes. And, to forgive, divine. But Rama never considered himself divine. No nepotism or favoritism for him.Though kind at heart, when called upon to judge people, his own or others, his only touchstone was the rule book, Dharma was sacrosanct to him.
Having chosen the strait path of Dharma, as his own lord Rama had done, Tyagaraja conscientiously strove to tread his lonely furrow of virtue, humility, kindness, and devotion to his lord.. The world knows him as a great saint. But the saint himself is not so sure of his righteousness. He knows that he is human, and he looks back at his conduct over the long years evidently with a magnifying glass and is assailed by doubts as to whether some of his steps, which he regards as grave misdemeanors, can be condoned by the exacting standards of his lord, Rama..He pours out his anguish in a great lyric, ‘Etula brotuvoa’, set in Chakravakam.
Over four decades ago I had a gramophone record of this song among other such, as rendered by the talented American singer, John Higgins Bhagavathar. While he was in India he gave a number of memorable concerts. It was surprising and delightful, that his pronunciation and his rendering were impeccable. It was unfortunate that he died later, in a car accident in the U.S. Here is a link to a short biography of the mudician.
http://www.hindu.com/fr/2010/12/10/stories/2010121050620300.htm

Here is my attempt at translation of the lyric into English, followed by the original lyric in the Roman script.

Pallavi.
Oh Rama, My Lord. I find that you are alone ( in a position to bestow some kindly consideration towards me) .But I am not sure you will find me worthy enough to save or virtuous enough to redeem me.
Anupallavi
Fie on me,, My Lord ! There is nothing of worth in my past, you would find my conduct jarring to your ears. .
Oh, Rama, My Lord. I find that you are alone ( in a position to bestow some kindly consideration towards me) .But I am not sure you will find me worthy to save, virtuous enough to redeem me. )

Charanam
Good for nothing like a dried out cow (vatti goddu= dried-out beast), I just ate and roamed.
For the sake of a few morsels of food to fill my stomach I had dishonestly extolled incorrigible misers.
I , Tyagaraja, had loafed around with ruffians and villains, committing grave misdeeds and earned ignominy and opprobrium.
Oh, Rama, My Lord. I find that you are alone ( in a position to bestow some kindly consideration towards me) .But I am not sure you will find me worthy to save, virtuous enough to redeem me. )

pallavi
Etulaa broatuvoa teliyaad-Aekaantaa Ramayyaa

Anupallavi
Kata kataa naa charitamu karna kathoaram-ayya
Etulaa broatuvoa teliyaad-Aekaantaa Ramayyaa

Charanam
Vatti goddu reeti bakshinchi tirigitee.
Puttu loabhulanoo pottakai pogaditee.
Dushtulatoa-goodi dush-krutyamulu salipi,
rattu jaesina Tyaagaraajuni dayatoa,
Etulaa broatuvoa teliyaad-Aekaantaa Ramayyaa.

About versa kay

Agile, keen, versatile,considerate,patient
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

