Let these wild flowers wither out beside the trail, My Lord.

Here is my attempt at translation into English of a lyric by Devulapalli Krishna Sastri, written in 1929. The intertwining of hope and despair that we find in this lyric , I think, was characteristic of the troubled times that were in offing .

“Let these wild flowers wither out beside the trail, My Lord,
But , if you should take a fancy, make them glisten out in your garland , My Lord,
Let these tender lyrics lie mute in this nook , My Lord,
But if you so choose, let them glitter as offerings to you, My Lord.
Let these narrow creeks, dry out in this remote vale, My Lord.
But, if it is your grace, let them join the limitless ocean of your compassion, My Lord.
Let this miserable life, peter out in the dreary deserts, My Lord.
But, if it is your will, let it gallop along on your own highway, MyLord.”

Here is the Unicode version of the original Telugu verse

I gaDDi pUvulE, I dAri pontanE alasi pO nIvOyi dEva dEvA
nI isTamainacO nI pUla danDalO merasipOnIvOyi dEva dEvA
I lEta gItaala I gUTi mUlanE mUgavOnIvOyi dEva dEvA
nI isTamainacO nI pUla danDalO merasipOnIvOyi dEva dEvA
I cinni selayELLa I konDa kOnanE enDipOnIvOyi dEva dEvA
nI isTamainacO nI prEmarASilO ninDipOnIvOyi dEva dEvA
I pEda jIvikala I eDArulalOne vEgipOnIvOyi dEva dEvA
nI isTamainacO nIrAjavIdhilO sAgipOnIvOyi dEva dEvA

And here it is again in the Telugu script.

ఈ గడ్డి పూవులే ఈ దారి పొంతనే అలసి పోనీవోయి దేవ దేవా
నీ ఇస్టమైనచో నీ పూల దండలో మెరసిపోనీవోయి దేవ దేవా
ఈ లేత గీతాల ఈ గూటి మూలనే మూగవోనీవోయి దేవ దేవా
నీ ఇస్టమైనచో నీ పూల దండలో మెరసిపోనీవోయి దేవ దేవా
ఈ చిన్ని సెలయేళ్ళ ఈ కొండ కోననే ఎండిపోనీవోయి దేవ దేవా
నీ ఇస్టమైనచో నీ ప్రేమరాశిలో నిండిపోనీవోయి దేవ దేవా
ఈ పేద జీవికల ఈ ఎడారులలోనె వేగిపోనీవోయి దేవ దేవా
నీ ఇస్టమైనచో నీరాజవీధిలో సాగిపోనీవోయి దేవ దేవా

About versa kay

Agile, keen, versatile,considerate,patient
This entry was posted in literature, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

